Manage channels

Create a channel

When you register a name on Charmhub, that automatically creates 4 channels, all with track latest but with different risk levels, namely, edge, beta, candidate, stable, respectively.

See more: Register a name on Charmhub

View the available channels

To view your charm’s channels on Charmhub, run charmcraft status followed by the name of the charm.

user@host:~$
charmcraft status my-awesome-charm
Track    Channel    Version    Revision
latest   stable     -          -
         candidate  -          -
         beta       0.1        1
         edge       ↑          ↑

See more: status

Customise a channel’s track

You can request a track guardrail and create a track.

See more: Manage tracks

Open a channel

A channel is opened when you release a revision to it. Before that, the channel is created but not opened.

Close a channel

Close a channel with:

charmcraft close <charm> <track>/<risk>[/<branch>]

When you close a channel, e.g., latest/candidate, that means that any deployment requests that go there will be forwarded to the next most stable risk, e.g., for beta, latest/stable. If you close stable, you can no longer deploy or update from that, unless you release again to that channel (because releasing opens the channel).

If you add a branch, closing that branch will forward people to the same track and risk, without a branch.